In The Shadows of Life Featured Photographer | August

 “I am aware of technical facts in photography but I care much more about mood. Depending on the situation or depending on my emotional state I can try to evoque joy, nostalgia, loneliness…”

This month we are sharing with you the captivating work of Raquel Chicheri. Raquel’s intriguing documentary style lifestyle work is one you can never get tired of exploring. There is spontaneity and truth to her stories, mixed with  a sense of mystery and intrigue. The results are truly beautiful portraits that capture the real essence of childhood. Please come share with us childhood through the eyes of Raquel!

Childhood and lifestyle images are often full of color and joy. How do you feel about breaking the perceived rules of photography by portraying such images in a different way?

I think it is only a matter of how I feel about the color and the b&w. It is easier for me to see in b&w, this way I am more aware about the light and the shadows , I can focus the subject better without the distraction of color.  Sometimes it is hard to shoot in color, they just don´t work well all together; sometimes when the colors work well and contribute to the image then I shoot in color but this only happens a few times.

1

 For us as a group, the use of deep strong shadows is what sets the mood in our lifestyle images.  How do you define “mood” in your own lifestyle photographs?

I am not aware there is a special mood in my photos but I suppose it is inevitable to transmit a specific mood because I always try to capture an emotion, it is the feeling that I try to materialize. I am aware of technical facts in photography but I care much more about mood. Depending on the situation or depending on my emotional state  I can try to evoque joy, nostalgia, loneliness…

2

  Why do you like portraying your lifestyle images in this way?  What draws you to this style of photography?

I believe I am very influenced by documentary photography and iconic images, I think I make a mix of both most of the times with my lifestyle images.

3

  When shooting in beautiful light, what attracts you more- the light, or the shadows that go with it?

In my opinion light and shadows go together so for them to work better they have to go hand by hand, they are complementary and both attract me the same way.

4

 What do you find inspiring in childhood that drives your need to capture it?

I have my kids around all the time, as I like documentary photography and I also like my kids , this is an opportunity  to capture life. It doesn´t mean that I don´t want to photograph other stuff , in fact I am looking forward to exploring other universes.

5

 Can you give one tip on how to shoot in “moody” light or low light?

I normally take the exposure on the highlights. This way the photo is always darker than if I do it on shadows.

6

  What keeps you going when you feel uninspired?

To see the work of good photographers always inspires me.

7

  What is your favorite time of day to photograph? And why?

I think the sunset is the best for me. All the photos look great at this hour, but you really never know when a good photo can be made , and that´s the magic about it. My best photos are most of the time a surprise.

9

  What’s in your camera bag?

My mark 5D II, and a few lenses, the 50mm, the 28mm, a lensbaby and a regular zoom.

10

 JPEG or RAW? Photoshop or Lightroom?

Always RAW and Photoshop.

3 thoughts on “In The Shadows of Life Featured Photographer | August

Leave a Reply

